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Summary of Amendments to New York’s Real Estate Transfer Taxes 
 
 
 The Tax Law imposes a real estate transfer tax (the base tax) on each conveyance of 
New York real property or interest in real property when the consideration exceeds $500.1 This 
tax is computed at a rate of $2.00 for each $500 of consideration or fractional part of the 
consideration. The base tax is paid by the seller (grantor). However, if the seller doesn't pay the 
tax, or is exempt from the tax, the buyer (grantee) must pay the tax. 
 
 An additional real estate transfer tax (commonly referred to as the mansion tax) is 
imposed on each conveyance of New York real property that is or may be used in whole or in 
part as a personal residence when the consideration for the entire conveyance is $1 million or 
more.2 The additional tax is computed at a rate of 1% of the consideration or part thereof 
attributable to the residential real property. The mansion tax is paid by the buyer (grantee).  
 
 The recently Enacted Budget (Chapter 59 of 2019) amended the existing mansion tax 
and added several new real estate transfer taxes that apply only to conveyances within 
New York City.  
 
Amendment to the mansion tax 
 
 The mansion tax is required to be paid by the buyer (grantee). The Tax Law was 
amended to provide that when the buyer fails to pay the tax, the seller (grantor) is required to 
pay.3 When the seller is required to pay the additional tax because the buyer failed to pay, the 
additional tax becomes the joint and several liability of the seller and the buyer.  
 
Amendments that apply specifically to New York City 
 
Additional base tax  
 
 The Tax Law was amended to provide for an addition to the base tax (additional base 
tax) in the amount of $1.25 for each $500, or fractional part, of the consideration for certain 
conveyances of real property located in New York City.4 The tax applies to: 
 

• The conveyance of residential real property where the consideration for the entire 
conveyance is $3 million or more. 

 
• The conveyance of real property other than residential real property where the 

consideration for the entire conveyance is $2 million or more. 
 
 The seller is required to pay the additional base tax. If the seller fails to pay the tax or is 
exempt from the tax, the buyer is required to pay the tax. When the buyer is required to pay the 

                                                 
1 Tax Law § 1402(a)(1). 
2 Tax Law § 1402-a(a). 
3 Tax Law § 1402-a(b). 
4 Tax Law § 1402(a)(2). 
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tax because the seller has failed to pay, the additional base tax becomes the joint and several 
liability of the seller and the buyer.  
 
 For purposes of the additional base tax, all mixed-use real property is considered 
residential real property. Therefore, if the consideration for the conveyance of mixed-use real 
property is $3 million or more, the entire consideration is subject to the additional base tax. 
 
 Residential real property includes any premises that is or may be used in whole or in 
part as a personal residence, and includes a one-, two- or three-family house, an individual 
condominium unit or a cooperative apartment unit.   
 
 Mixed-use real property is real property that is used for both residential and other than 
residential (for example, commercial) purposes. 
 

Example 1: B sells a residential condominium unit located in NYC to C for $7 million. 
Since the consideration is $3 million or more the additional base tax applies. The 
additional base tax is computed on the entire consideration at a rate of $1.25 for each 
$500 of consideration. The additional base tax due is $17,500.  

 
Example 2: X sells a two-unit building located in NYC to Y for $3.2 million. 60% of the 
building is commercial space and the remaining 40% is used as a personal residence. 
This conveyance is subject to the additional base tax because the property is used in 
whole or in part as a personal residence and the consideration for the entire property is 
over $3 million. The additional base tax is computed on the entire consideration at a rate 
of $1.25 for each $500 of consideration. The additional base tax due is $8,000.  

 
Example 3: S sells a two-unit building located in NYC to T for $2.5 million. One unit is 
used as a personal residence (50%) and the other unit is used as a retail store. No 
additional base tax is due since the property is used in whole or in part as residential real 
property and the entire consideration is less than $3 million. 

 
 (The transactions above are also subject to other real estate transfer taxes. For a full 
explanation of all the taxes due for these conveyances, see Examples reflecting all applicable 
real estate transfer taxes.) 
 
Supplemental tax on residences 
 
 The Tax Law was also amended to add a supplemental tax on the conveyance of 
residential real property located in New York City where the consideration for the conveyance is 
$2 million or more.5 The supplemental tax differs depending on the amount of the consideration 
for the entire conveyance. The chart below shows the applicable rates. 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                 
5 Tax Law § 1402-b. 
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 The buyer is required to pay the supplemental tax. If the buyer fails to pay the tax or is 
exempt, the seller is required to pay the tax. When the seller is required to pay the tax because 
the buyer has failed to pay, the supplemental tax becomes the joint and several liability of the 
seller and the buyer. 
 
 The supplemental tax is due on the conveyance of mixed use real property when the 
consideration for the entire property is $2 million or more. Tax is computed only on the 
consideration attributed to the residential portion of the property. 
 

Example 4: B sells a residential condominium unit located in NYC to C for $7 million. 
Since the consideration is $2 million or more the supplemental tax applies. The 
supplemental tax is computed on the total consideration, since the entire property is 
residential, at the rate that applies to conveyances for total consideration of at least 
$5 million but less than $10 million (1.25%). The supplemental tax due is $87,500. 

 
Example 5: X sells a two-unit building located in NYC to Y for $3.2 million. 60% of the 
building is commercial space and the remaining 40% is used as a personal residence. 
This conveyance is subject to the supplemental tax because consideration for the entire 
property is over $2 million. The supplemental tax is computed on the consideration 
attributed to the residential real property ($1,280,000) at the rate that applies to 
conveyances for total consideration of at least $3 million but less than $5 million (.5%). 
The supplemental tax due is $6,400. 

 
Example 6: S sells a two-unit building located in NYC to T for $2.5 million. One unit is 
used as a personal residence (50%) and the other unit is used as a retail store. This 
conveyance is subject to the supplemental tax because consideration for the entire 
property is over $2 million. Tax is computed on the consideration attributed to the 
residential real property ($1,250,000) at the rate that applies to conveyances for total 
consideration of at least $2 million but less than $3 million (.25%). The supplemental tax 
due is $3,125. 

 
 (The transactions above are also subject to other real estate transfer taxes. For a full 
explanation of all the taxes due for these conveyances, see Examples reflecting all applicable 
real estate transfer taxes.) 
 

Entire Conveyance Amount Supplemental tax rate  
At least $ 2 million but less than $ 3 million One-quarter of one percent (.25%) 
At least $ 3 million but less than $ 5 million One-half of one percent (.5%) 
At least $ 5 million but less than $10 million One and one-quarter percent (1.25%) 
At least $10 million but less than $15 million Two and one-quarter percent (2.25%) 
At least $15 million but less than $20 million Two and one-half percent (2.5%) 
At least $20 million but less than $25 million Two and three-quarters percent (2.75%) 
$25 million dollars or more Two and nine-tenths percent (2.9%) 
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Multiple transfers 
 
 When a seller transfers more than one interest in real property to a buyer, the property 
interests will be treated as a single conveyance when the property interests are used in 
conjunction with each other or there is a clear relationship between each property interest. 
When multiple transfers are treated as a single conveyance, the consideration for these 
transfers must be added together to determine whether the additional base tax or supplemental 
tax are due.  
 
 A seller making multiple transfers in NYC must complete Form 584.6-NYC, Real Estate 
Transfer Tax Return Schedule of Apportionment, to show how consideration is apportioned 
between the properties and compute the additional base tax, supplemental tax, and other 
applicable real estate transfer taxes. 
 

Example 7: C sells three condominium units in the same building located in NYC to D. 
One unit is an apartment, the second is a basement storage room, and the third is a 
parking space in the parking garage. The three units are used together by the owner. 
The total consideration for the units is $3.5 million. Since the units are being used in 
conjunction with each other, the entire consideration is subject to both the additional 
base tax and the supplemental tax.    

 
Example 8: E sells four cooperative apartments in the same building located in NYC to 
F. Two of the apartments are sold for $1 million each and the other two apartments are 
sold for $1.5 million each. The apartments are not connected to each other and are not 
used in conjunction with each other. These sales are treated as separate conveyances 
and the consideration is not subject to the additional base tax or the supplemental tax.  

 
 (The transactions above are also subject to other real estate transfer taxes. For a full 
explanation of all the taxes due for these conveyances, see Examples reflecting all applicable 
real estate transfer taxes.) 
 
Taxes collected 
 
 The base tax, additional base tax, mansion tax, and supplemental tax are all due within 
15 days from the date of conveyance and are to be remitted with Form TP-584-NYC, Combined 
Real Estate Transfer Tax Return, Credit Line Mortgage Certificate, and Certification of 
Exemption from the Payment of Estimated Personal Income Tax for the Conveyance of Real 
Property Located in New York City. 
 
Grandfathered conveyances 
 
 The additional base tax and supplemental tax will apply to conveyances occurring on or 
after July 1, 2019. However, these taxes will not be imposed on any conveyance made pursuant 
to a binding contract entered into on or before April 1, 2019, provided the date of execution of 
the contract can be confirmed by independent evidence. A conveyance pursuant to a contract 
entered into on or before April 1, 2019, that is substantially amended after April 1, 2019, will not 
qualify for the grandfather exemption. 
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 The recording of a contract and the payment of a deposit would constitute independent 
evidence to support that a contract was entered into on or before April 1, 2019. The department 
will also consider any other evidence presented.   
 
Examples reflecting all applicable real estate transfer taxes 
 
Examples 1 & 4: B sells a NYC residence to C for $7 million. 
 

 
Tax type 

 
Tax computed 

 
Tax rate 

Amount 
due 

Who 
pays? 

Base tax $2 for each $500 0.40% $28,000 Seller 
Additional base tax $1.25 for each $500 0.25% $17,500 Seller 
Mansion tax Entire consideration 1% $70,000 Buyer 
Supplemental tax $5 - $10 million tier 1.25% $87,500 Buyer 
B pays a total of $45,500 in tax. C pays a total of $157,500 in tax. 

 
 
Examples 2 & 5: X sells a 2-unit building in NYC to Y for $3.2 million that is 40% residential. 
 

 
Tax type 

 
Tax computed 

 
Tax rate 

Amount 
due 

Who 
pays? 

Base tax $2 for each $500 0.40% $12,800 Seller 
Additional base tax $1.25 for each $500 0.25% $  8,000 Seller 
Mansion tax Consideration for residential 

portion 
1% $12,800 Buyer 

Supplemental tax $3 - $5 million tier on residential 
portion 

0.50% $  6,400 Buyer 

X pays a total of $20,800 in tax. Y pays a total of $19,200 in tax. 
 
 
Examples 3 & 6: S sells a 2-unit building in NYC to T for $2.5 million that is used 50% 
residential. 
 

 
Tax type 

 
Tax computed 

 
Tax rate 

Amount 
due 

Who 
pays? 

Base tax $2 for each $500 0.40% $10,000 Seller 
Additional base tax Consideration under $3 million 

threshold for residential property  
0.25% 0 Seller 

Mansion tax Consideration for residential 
portion 

1% $12,500 Buyer 

Supplemental tax $2 - $3 million tier on residential 
portion 

0.25% $  3,125 Buyer 

S pays a total of $10,000 in tax. T pays a total of $15,625 in tax. 
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Example 7: C sells 3 condominium units in NYC (an apartment, garage, and storage unit) to D 
for a total of $3.5 million. 
 

 
Tax type 

 
Tax computed 

 
Tax rate 

Amount 
due 

Who 
pays? 

Base tax $2 for each $500 0.40% $14,000 Seller 
Additional base tax $1.25 for each $500 0.25% $  8,750 Seller 
Mansion tax Entire consideration 1% $35,000 Buyer 
Supplemental tax $3 - $5 million tier 0.50% $17,500 Buyer 
C pays a total of $22,750 in tax. D pays a total of $52,500 in tax. 

 
 
Example 8: E sells 4 residential condominium units in the same building in NYC to F. Two units 
were sold for $1 million each and 2 were sold for $1.5 million each. The units are not connected 
or used in conjunction with each other. 
 

 
Tax type 

 
Tax computed 

 
Tax rate 

Amount 
due 

Who 
pays? 

Base tax $2 for each $500 as calculated 
on a per unit basis and totaled.  

0.40% $20,000 Seller 

Additional base tax Consideration for each unit below 
threshold 

0.25% 0 Seller 

Mansion tax Total mansion tax as calculated 
on a per unit basis 

1% $50,000 Buyer 

Supplemental tax Consideration for each unit below 
threshold 

0.00% 0 Buyer 

E pays a total of $20,000. F pays a total of $50,000. 
 
 

Note: A TSB-M is an informational statement of existing department policies or of 
changes to the law, regulations, or department policies. It is accurate on the 
date issued. Subsequent changes in the law or regulations, judicial decisions, 
Tax Appeals Tribunal decisions, or changes in department policies could affect 
the validity of the information presented in a TSB-M. 

 
 


